Home arrow Information arrow Press Releases arrow WWEA Secretary General Stefan Gsaenger receives International Community Power Award
Font size:  A+  |  A-  |  Reset
Small Wind Platform
Wind Energy Technology
Who's Online
We have 230 guests online
Login Form
Here you can enter your username and password in order to access into the site.

Lost Password?

WWEA Head Office

Charles-de-Gaulle-Str. 5
53113 Bonn
Tel.: +49 228 369 40 80
Fax: +49 228 369 40 84
WWEA Secretary General Stefan Gsaenger receives International Community Power Award PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 17 November 2011

WWEA Secretary General Stefan Gsänger receives International Community Power Award

Ontario Minister of Energy delivers keynote for Community Power Awards

 Toronto/Bonn (WWEA/OSEA), 16 November 2011 – The OSEA 2011 Community Power Awards were presented earlier this week on the occasion of the 3rd Community Power Conference in Toronto (Canada). The award winners are individuals who have made significant contributions to the Community Power movement in Ontario and globally. WWEA Secretary General Stefan Gsänger was honored as an International Community Power Leader for his contribution to the worldwide promotion of community power.

The award presentation followed a keynote speech by Chris Bentley, Ontario’s Minister of Energy. The awards were presented by Kristopher Stevens, the Executive Director of the Ontario Sustainable Energy Association OSEA. In his reply, Stefan Gsänger dedicated the Award to all friends, colleagues and supporters who have helped to advance community power all over the world, and he thanked especially his colleagues in Ontario for their groundbreaking work.

 The 2011 Community Power Award winners are:

- International Community Power Leader Award: Stefan Gsänger, World Wind Energy Association, Secretary General

- Community Power Leader Award: Mike Brigham, President of TREC Solar Share

- Urban Community Power Leader Award: Farrah Khan, Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment

- Aboriginal Community Power Leader Award: Byron LeClair, Director of Community Development, Pic River First Nation

- Rural Community Power Leader Award: Don McCabe, Vice-President, Ontario Federation of Agriculture

The Community Power Conference 2011 is one of the single largest annual gathering of Community Power producers, proponents and supporters. The conference attracts industry regulators, commercial and Community Power generators, farmers and First Nation and Métis delegations.

< Prev   Next >
Outstanding Content

Find us on Facebook




Wind Energy International 2014/2015 (Available now!)








Order it Now!!


2013 Small Wind World Report Update

Table of Contents of the Full Report

 10 years of the WWEA

10 years of the WWEA

WWEA's Interactive World Map

WWEA's Interactive Map


WWEA - World Wind Energy Association. Copyright 2006 by WWEA. All rights reserved.